Question Of The Week
How To Use System Restore?
System Restore can undo harmful changes in your computer and restore your settings. Such a harmful change might come from a virus or you yourself might have done something inadvertently. System Restore returns your computer to an earlier time (called Restore Point) without causing you to lose your recent works, saved files, history etc.,
Although your computer automatically creates Restore Points, you can also create Restore Points using System Restore function (Start -> Programs ->Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore). Then if you want to restore your system, use the same path, select Restore my computer and choose the date and restore point. That's it.
System Restore is enabled on all drives by default when the operating system is installed. Since System Restore is essential only in C drive, you can turn it off in other drives (Start -> Control Panel -> System). In the System Properties dialog box, go to System Restore tab (System Protection in Vista). Now highlight each drive and turn it off. For C drive, allocate around 1 GB for System Restore. It will be taking 12% of your drive space by default but that much is not necessary.
Antivirus programs can affect whether your system can be restored to a previous point or not. If a restore point contains an infected file because the Antivirus program is not set to clean the file within the restore point, or if an infected file has been removed from a restore point by an Antivirus program because it could not be cleaned, System Restore will not recover the computer to this partial or infected state.
The final point is... all changes made by System Restore are completely reversible. Thus, if you are not satisfied with the changes after effecting System Restore to a particular Restore Point, you can simply revert the changes by a single click (Use the same path).